ORA-02065 Changing Max_Dump_File_Size Parameter

 

Yesterday I was generating some traces (1046) in a database in version 10g, when I went to see the dump, in row mode I appeared the hateful message

*** DUMP FILE SIZE IS LIMITED TO 25722880 BYTES ***

Of course, it’s my fault for not looking at it previously, to solve it you can extend it at the session or system level. In my case as I was tracing several sessions, I would like to change it to the system level, so I run;

Alter system set max_dump_file_size = 100m;

This gave me back the following error

ORA-02065: illegal option for ALTER SYSTEM

Doing some memory remember that it is a string of text and has to go in quotes, as in the following example;

alter system set max_dump_file_size= ‘100m’;

Better.
HTH – Antonio NAVARRO

 

 

Leave a Reply

