ORA-01103 Error

Last day I was clonning a database from Production to Test, because of size of database, about 300 Gigas, I performed a restore from tape library using the controlfile as rman catalog. I ftp the controlfile backup from production to test when I tryed mount the test database I received the next error;

ORA-01103: database name ‘NICE’ in control file is not ‘NICETEST’

In this case I forgot change the db_name parameter in pfile (or spfile if it is your case), the test database hava a name different from production. Change it to the Production solve the problem. This kind of error is very typical when you haven’t a protocol or guideline or automate proccess for these tasks.

HTH – Antonio NAVARRO

Leave a Reply

